Girls Junior Varsity Swimming, Girls Varsity Swimming · Girls Swim and Dive: End of Season Awards

The Maple Grove Girls Swim and Dive team (captains pictured above) held their end of season banquet at Rush Creek Golf Course on Thursday, November 29th. At the banquet, they celebrated their success as a team as well as individual accomplishments.  The Crimson team accomplishments were:

  • Section 8AA True Team – 1st place
  • Northwest Suburban Conference – 2nd place
  • Northwest Suburban JV Conference – 1st place
  • Section 8AA – 1st place
  • MN State High School Swim & Dive Coaches Association- Gold Academic Award (cumulative team GPA 3.75 or higher)

Individual accomplishments were also recognized at the banquet. These swimmers and divers received NWSC All-Conference Honors: Caitlin Aarseth, Elizabeth Altman, Maddie Bast, Lauren Buendorf, Lily Chabica, Abbey Cornelius and Brenna McMahon.

NWSC All-Conference Honorable mention recipients were: Nadia Abid, Morgan Bosacker, Ella Sand and Sammy Soller.

The team also voted on a number of awards, including Ms. Crimson. This award is given to the swimmer/diver who best exemplifies the Crimson Way characteristics of motivation, gratitude, scholarship, and honor. The 2018 award recipient was senior, Teagan Kautzman (pictured below). “Teagan’s kindness, caring, hard work and determination make her a perfect winner of this award,” said Head Coach Laura Hebzynski.

Other awards given out were:

  • Most Improved: JV: Sarah Kahl; Varsity: Livi Isaacs
  • Hardest Worker: JV: Ava Adair; Varsity: Caitlin Aarseth
  • Most Spirited: JV: Mira Cook; Varsity: Chloe Balder
  • MVP: JV: Ella Meissner; Varsity: Lily Chabica

The last award given out at the banquet was the Grace Heitzig “Iron Girl” award. This award is given each year in to a new swimmer who has characteristics of a positive attitude, great team spirit and a passion for swimming, just like Grace. Charlie and Katie Heitzig, Grace’s parents, presented the 2018 Iron Girl awards to Sarah Kahl and Ryann Hopp.

The 2019 Maple Grove Girls Swim & Dive captains were also announced at the banquet. They are: Chloe Balder, Anna Chabica, Abbey Cornelius, Clarissa Kulda and Noelle Shandley.